index

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

TV Geek

By Simon Brew
Authors:
Simon Brew
TV Geek recounts the fascinating stories of cult-classic series, reveals the nerdy Easter eggs hidden in TV show sets, and demonstrates the awe-inspiring power of fandom, which has even been known to raise TV series from the dead. Subjects include:- How the live-action Star Wars TV show fell apart- The logistics and history of the crossover episode- The underrated geeky TV shows of the 1980s- The hidden details of Game of Thrones- Five Scandinavian crime thrillers that became binge hits - The Walking Dead, and the power of fandomTV series now have the same budgets, stars, audience figures and cultural impact as Hollywood movies, and TV Geek provides an insightful look at the fascinating history, facts and anecdotes behind the greatest (and not-so-great) shows.This is the ultimate, nerdy television guide for TV geeks everywhere.
  • More

Thinking on My Feet

By Kate Humble
Authors:
Kate Humble
'An enticing read that makes every walk Humble describes an adventure' - Ranulph Fiennes'A beautiful and magnificent book. A paean to a simple act. I defy you to read this book and not be inspired to walk, march or hike - and as a result live a better life more connected with nature and the world around you.' - Simon Reeve'A lovely book, fast-flowing yet at every turn giving the reader pause for thought. Kate Humble makes a delightful companion, her words full of sunshine and the raw pleasure she radiates as she encounters life in its many unexpected forms.' - Benedict Allen'I've discovered that going for a daily walk has become as essential to me feeling good for the rest of the day as that first cup of tea. But I would argue that all I am doing is responding to a natural need we all have. Humans have always been migrants, the physiological urge to be nomadic is deep-rooted in all of us and perhaps because of that our brains are stimulated by walking. I solve all sorts of problems, formulate ideas, work things out to that gentle rhythm of self-propelled movement.' - Kate HumbleThinking on My Feet tells the story of Kate's walking year - shining a light on the benefits of this simple activity. Kate's inspiring narrative not only records her walks (and runs) throughout a single year, but also charts her feelings and impressions throughout - capturing the perspectives that only a journey on foot allows - and shares the outcomes: a problem solved, a mood lifted, an idea or opportunity borne. As she explores the reasons why we walk, whether for creative energy, challenge and pleasure, or therapeutic benefits, Kate's reflections and insights will encourage, motivate and spur readers into action.Also featured are Kate's walks with others who have discovered the magical, soothing effect of putting one foot in front of the other - the artist who walks to find inspiration for his next painting; the man who takes people battling with addiction to climb mountains; the woman who walked every footpath in Wales (3,700 miles) when she discovered she had cancer.This book will inspire you to change your perspective by applying walking to your daily endeavours.
  • More
  • The Telegraph Quick Crosswords 3

    Challenge yourself with this new collection of fast and furious quick crosswords from the UK's best-selling quality newspaper. Quick in name, but not always by nature, you'll have to draw upon all of your vocabulary skills to solve these!
  • The Telegraph Big Book of Quick Crosswords 2

    Fuel your passion for puzzling with this bumper book of quick crosswords from the UK's most popular quality newspaper. With a wide variety of fun clues and over 300 crosswords, this book is guaranteed to keep you entertained in any spare moments.
  • The Telegraph Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 3

    Cryptic crosswords from the Telegraph are the most popular around, and this bumper collection will both frustrate and delight in equal measure. Perfect for any spare moment, and completely addictive, these puzzles are certain to test your lateral thinking to the limit.
  • The Telegraph Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 2

    This bumper collection of cryptic crosswords will provide hours of fun, as you work your way through puzzling clues. Perfect for any spare moments, these puzzles are the ultimate test for anyone who loves a lateral thinking challenge.
  • The Telegraph Cryptic Crosswords 3

    Navigate your way through a mix of wordplay and intricate clues-within-clues to solve these crosswords. Hours of fun, this book is perfect for keen puzzle solvers who enjoy lateral thinking.

    Today Programme Puzzle Book

    ***The puzzle book of 2018***The Today Programme Puzzle Book is perfect for fans of Bletchley Park Brainteasers and The GCHQ Puzzle Book. Which is the only letter of the alphabet not to appear in the name of any US state? Can YOU solve the Puzzle for Today?Tackle the conundrums that have been frustrating and confounding the nation, with the first official book from Radio 4's Today programme.The Today Programme Puzzle Book challenges you with over 280 cryptic, linguistic & numerical brainteasers designed by the greatest puzzles masters around the world from Mensa, UK Mathematics Trust, University of Cambridge, University of Oxford, Japanese puzzle masters & many more.Chapters include:Common-sense ConundrumsFlags, Capitals & NationsMaths & LanguageFurther MathsNew PuzzlesBBC Today Presenters' PuzzlesCelebrity SettersChristmas CrackersSo, challenge your grey matter and hone your reasoning and logic skills with the brainteasers that manage to get the nation's synapses firing every morning. With a foreword by Sarah Sands, editor of the Today programme.Introductions to each chapter by Tom Feildon, the BBC Science Editor.[Answer: The letter Q]
    • More
  • The Telegraph Big Book of Quick Crosswords 3

    The latest collection of quick-fire crosswords from the UK's most popular quality newspaper. Guaranteed to keep you entertained in any spare moments, whether on the daily commute, on holiday or simply relaxing at home, this book is just what you need to get your brain working and keep boredom at bay!
  • The Telegraph Big Book of Sudoku 1

    The first book in a brand new Telegraph puzzles series, The Telegraph Big Book of Sudoku 1 contains over 400 sudoku grids ranging from easier puzzles for beginners right up to fiendish puzzles that will challenge even the most experienced of sudoku-lovers. Fuel your passion for puzzling with this bumper book of sudoku from the UK's most popular quality newspaper.
  • The Telegraph Quick Crosswords 4

    This compilation of quick crosswords will delight and frustrate word fanatics. Challenge yourself and increase your vocabulary with these speedy brainteasers from the UK's best-selling quality newspaper.
  • The Telegraph Cryptic Crosswords 4

    This demanding new collection of cryptic crosswords from the archives of your favourite quality newspaper will provide the perfect entertainment in any spare moment. Whether on your lunch break, work commute or just a relaxing afternoon, The Telegraph Cryptic Crosswords 4 is a great selection of headscratchers for any puzzle fan to ponder over.
  • Top 10 of Everything 2019

    By Paul Terry
    Authors:
    Paul Terry
    Ever wondered in which country you would find the tallest rollercoaster in the world? Or wanted to know the terrifying size of the biggest shark known to man? Ever wondered which astronaut has spent the most time in space in total? This is the book for you. Top 10 of Everything 2019 is divided into genres including Animal Kingdom, Sport, Forces of Nature, Video Games and Mechanical Creations, and includes lists, charts and tables to break down the details of each amazing fact.Packed full of photographs, charts, graphs and incredible information, this is the perfect book for anyone with a curious mind and an insatiable appetite for facts, stats and trivia.
    • More

    Toast Hash Roast Mash

    By Dan Doherty
    Authors:
    Dan Doherty
    Dan Doherty is a judge on the BBC1's primetime series, Britain's Best Home Cook, alongside Mary Berry.'There's serious talent in this kitchen' - Tom Parker Bowles, the Mail on SundayCelebrated Chef Dan Doherty has created a collection of recipes that he loves to cook at home - informal, easy and indulgent. With dishes based around eggs, hash, pancakes, toast, simple savoury dishes and sweet bakes, this is food inspired by the best a breakfast or brunch menu can offer - but to eat all day.Recipes include Ricotta, Pear & Honey on Toast, Smoked Salmon, Horseradish & Sour Cream Hash, Mexican Eggs and a whole chapter devoted to food to defeat a hangover, including the Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich.
    • More

    Take It, Don't Fake It

    By Paul Reiffer
    Authors:
    Paul Reiffer

    Tong Sing

    By Charles Windridge, Dr Charles Windridge
    Authors:
    Charles Windridge, Dr Charles Windridge
    The words 'Tong Sing' mean 'know everything book.' No wonder the traditional Chinese almanack contains information on everything from astrology to herbal remedies, Taoist philosophy to the interpretation of dreams. Drawing his inspiration from this centuries-old work, but using his own research and adapting the contents to appeal to a modern audience, Charles Windridge has compiled a fully updated book that will answer every question the reader can ask about the ancient Chinese way of life. Whether you want to know the best time to conceive a child, understand more about Confucianism or prepare your own dim sum, Tong Sing can tell you how. Inspired by one of the most successful books ever published in China, this book will appeal to anyone who wants to learn more about 'Tong Sing'.
  • The Telegraph: General Knowledge Crosswords 4

    Impress all your friends at the next pub quiz by perfecting your knowledge of everything from history to sport, science and popular entertainment. This fantastic new collection of puzzles provides the perfect solitary entertainment for every quiet moment while allowing you to build a fantastic range of facts on the tip of your tongue.Covering a wide range of topics, these varied and challenging puzzles from Britain's best-selling quality newspaper will provide hours of amusement for general knowledge and crossword enthusiasts alike.
  • The Telegraph Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1

    Fuel your passion for puzzling with The Telegraph Big Book of Cryptic Crosswords 1, the first title in a relaunch of the best-selling bumper cryptic crossword series from the Telegraph.For long-time puzzle enthusiasts and crossword novices alike, these tricky puzzles will keep you entertained through the longest train journeys and the rainiest of evenings.
  • The Telegraph Quick Crosswords 2

    Hone your puzzling skills with 150 more quick crosswords, guaranteed to test your vocabulary, general knowledge and lateral thinking to the limits. This is the second book in a brand new relaunch of the best-selling Telegraph crossword series, with all new puzzles for 2017.
  • The Telegraph Cryptic Crosswords 2

    Challenge yourself with even more unbeatable brainteasers from the Telegraph's puzzle pages. This book, part of a brand new relaunched Telegraph series for 2017, contains a range of puzzles perfect for beginner and expert puzzle solvers alike.