Paul Condon - 1001 TV Series - Octopus

1001 TV Series

You Must Watch Before You Die

By Paul Condon

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The most comprehensive guide to television you'll ever need.

This is the ultimate book for the Netflix and boxset generation, featuring all the greatest drama series ever broadcast as well as the weirdest game shows, controversial reality TV experiments and breathtaking nature documentaries.

It is a must for anyone who wants to know why India's Ramayan is legendary, why Roots was groundbreaking, or what the ending of Lost was all about. Written by an international team of critics, authors, academics, producers and journalists, this book reviews TV series from more than 20 countries, highlights classic episodes to watch and also provides cast summaries and production details.

Biographical Notes

ABOUT THE GENERAL EDITOR
Paul Condon has been fascinated by TV since he was a youngster, when just the theme tune of The Pink Panther cartoon could send him scurrying behind the sofa. He has written articles and reviews about TV and film for a wide variety of UK magazines, and has written books on popular culture, the movies of Alfred Hitchcock, the TV show Six Feet Under, the Matrix films, and a comprehensive history of television. Paul has also been involved in organizing more than a dozen TV-related conferences and events, and currently works in the industry helping to promote and support programs.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781788400466
  • Publication date: 15 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Cassell
Ilex Press

The Incomplete History of Secret Organizations

Joe Tracz
Authors:
Joe Tracz

The perfect companion to Netflix's adaptation of A Series of Unfortunate Events, The Incomplete History of Secret Organizations is a fourth-wall-breaking deep dive into the hilariously twisted saga and the creative team that brought it to life on the screen. Discover a host of insider secrets about the show and the Baudelaire family with interviews from the cast and crew, as well as everything from exclusive looks at storyboards and sketches to the Baudelaire orphans' pasta puttanesca recipe. Foreword by Neil Patrick Harris Profiles of characters and cast Interviews with cast and crew Never-Before-Seen storyboards and sketches Annotated script excerpts Behind-the-Scenes photographs Violet Baudelaire's most intriguing inventions Guide to the show's hidden clues and Easter eggs Lyrics to the opening title songs Glossary of terms defined in the show The Baudelaires' Recipe for pasta puttanesca

Cassell

TV Geek

Simon Brew
Authors:
Simon Brew
Ilex Press

Rick and Morty: The World According to Rick

Rick Sanchez, Matt Carson
Authors:
Rick Sanchez, Matt Carson

As the most intelligent being in the multiverse, I've got a lot of knowledge to drop. Check out this collection of my words of wisdom. If you 're smart, you 'll pay attention - Rick SanchezEach season Rick and his grandson Morty embark on thrilling domestic and intergalactic adventures, all for the benefit of science (and Rick's inflated ego). But what makes the depraved genius tick? Now Rick is eager to impart his unique (and sometimes disturbing) take on life, love, and everything in-between for the benefit of aspiring mad scientists everywhere. Giving a unique insight into a deranged mind, The World According to Rick is a collection of Rick's most meaningful (and meaningless) sayings, monologues, and quotes, complete with a personal introduction by the mad man himself. Isotope 322. This stuff's so powerful, Morty, it makes Isotope 465 look like Isotope 317 - Rick on ScienceThere's pros and cons to every alternate timeline. Fun facts about this one: It's got giant telepathic spiders, eleven nine-elevens, and the best ice cream in the multiverse! - Rick on Interdimensional Time TravelOut of the frying pan, dot dot dot, huh, Morty? - Rick on AdventureWhen a Rick is with a Morty, the genius waves get cancelled out by the, uh, Morty waves - Rick on MortyA truly distinctive volume, this collectible is sure to become a cult favorite like the show that inspired it, and an invaluable reference for Rick's millions of fans.

Cassell

Today Programme Puzzle Book

***The puzzle book of 2018***The Today Programme Puzzle Book is perfect for fans of Bletchley Park Brainteasers and The GCHQ Puzzle Book. Which is the only letter of the alphabet not to appear in the name of any US state? Can YOU solve the Puzzle for Today?Tackle the conundrums that have been frustrating and confounding the nation, with the first official book from Radio 4's Today programme.The Today Programme Puzzle Book challenges you with over 280 cryptic, linguistic & numerical brainteasers designed by the greatest puzzles masters around the world from Mensa, UK Mathematics Trust, University of Cambridge, University of Oxford, Japanese puzzle masters & many more.Chapters include:Common-sense ConundrumsFlags, Capitals & NationsMaths & LanguageFurther MathsNew PuzzlesBBC Today Presenters' PuzzlesCelebrity SettersChristmas CrackersSo, challenge your grey matter and hone your reasoning and logic skills with the brainteasers that manage to get the nation's synapses firing every morning. With a foreword by Sarah Sands, editor of the Today programme.Introductions to each chapter by Tom Feildon, the BBC Science Editor.[Answer: The letter Q]

Spruce

Be a Sloth

Sarah Ford, Anita Mangan
Contributors:
Sarah Ford, Anita Mangan
Ilex Press

The Power of YES

Abbie Headon
Authors:
Abbie Headon
Kyle Books

The Art of Edible Flowers

Rebecca Sullivan
Authors:
Rebecca Sullivan
Kyle Books

The Art of Natural Cleaning

Rebecca Sullivan
Authors:
Rebecca Sullivan
Kyle Books

The Art of Natural Beauty

Rebecca Sullivan
Authors:
Rebecca Sullivan
Kyle Books

The Art of Herbs for Health

Rebecca Sullivan
Authors:
Rebecca Sullivan
Ilex Press

The Power of NO

Abbie Headon
Authors:
Abbie Headon

Say yes to 'no'.No more confidence knocks, no more overwhelming workloads and no more hesitation. By using this single word and canny bible you will break the taboo that surrounds 'no' and come to understand your own needs.The Power of NO teaches you to value your time and equips you with the know-how to set your own rules, find direction and demand respect.

Cassell

The Pocket Encyclopedia of Aggravation

Laura Lee
Authors:
Laura Lee

Aaarghgghhh!!@#%&*!!! Every time your mobile phone rings, it's an automated PPI call... You've forgotten one of your million different internet passwords... Once again, you're stuck in the slowest lane at the supermarket...This book investigates 97 day-ruining events, slap-in-the-face moments and everyday aggravations, and explains why these things irritate us quite so much. Let's face it, the world is becoming an increasingly annoying place to live - and THE POCKET ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AGGRAVATION has the evidence to prove it. It has been scientifically proven that when we understand the science behind our daily grievances, our problems become less frustrating and easier to manage. This fact-filled book will help reduce the stress of your daily grind. Designed with enlightening diagrams and witty drawings, THE POCKET ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AGGRAVATION finally answers the question, why is that so f*cking annoying?

Cassell

Cracking Economics

Tejvan Pettinger
Authors:
Tejvan Pettinger
Cassell

Cracking Quantum Physics

Brian Clegg
Authors:
Brian Clegg
Cassell

1001 Photographs

Paul Lowe
Authors:
Paul Lowe
Spruce

Be a Flamingo

Sarah Ford
Authors:
Sarah Ford

Flamingo is that one friend who always brightens a room as soon as he walks in. He is always the first on the dancefloor and the very last to stop boogying. He has never tried to dress like a Parisian, never followed advice on what not to wear, and certainly has never tried to tone down his natural pinkness; he knows he is perfect just the way he is. And even when life throws Flamingo a curveball, he is always ready to embrace the unknown and jump straight in.A gorgeous little gift book of motivational sayings and hilarious axioms, Be a Flamingo is a perfect pink pick-me-up gift for a friend who needs a confidence boost, or great as an impulse self-purchase when you feel you need to start tooting your own horn a little louder. Because we could all do worse than taking a leaf out of Flamingo's book.

Godsfield Press

The Tarot Bible

Sarah Bartlett
Authors:
Sarah Bartlett

The Tarot Bible teaches you everything you need to know about tarot, including how to choose the right pack of cards and how to ask questions. It features interpretations for every card of the Major and Minor Arcana, practical advice on how to give readings and how you can use tarot in combination with other divination techniques such as numerology, astrology and crystals. The book also features over 30 tarot layouts that you can use to gain insights into yourself, your relationships and your future.

Spruce

Be a Unicorn

Sarah Ford
Authors:
Sarah Ford

Escape the real world and enter into the magical realm of unicorns with this little book of positivity. Illustrated with adorable, adorkable unicorns, each spread comes with a funny or inspiring quote reminding you to follow your dreams, and always think unicorn.Perfect for giving an inspiring boost to your day, or as a cheering gift for a friend who needs a little more unicorn in their life, this is a cute and covetable little book that is bound to spread smiles wherever it goes.

Cassell

1001 Guitars to Dream of Playing Before You Die

Terry Burrows
Authors:
Terry Burrows

Find out why Chet Atkins had a Gretsch guitar named after him, why The Who's John Entwistle called his favourite guitar "Frankenstein", and how John Lennon elevated the Rickenbacker 325 to one of the most desirable guitar brands of the 1960's.1001 Guitars to Dream of Playing Before Your Die showcases the greatest instruments from across the globe: some are of historical or cultural significance and some were made famous by well-known musicians; others are included as examples of technological breakthroughs, innovative design or extraordinary sound quality. From the earliest models produced by Belchior Dias in the sixteenth century to the latest Gibson "Robot" series of guitars with computer-controlled self-tuning capabilities and onboard sound-processing features, 1001 Guitars to Dream of Playing Before Your Die tells the fascinating stories behind the creation of each one.All the classic names are here - Fender, Roland, Martin, Gretsch and Rickenbacker - as well as important Japanise brands, such as Ibanez, Yamaha and Teisco; European classics of the 1960's including Burns, Hagstrom, Eko and Hofner; obscure models from behind the "Iron Curtain", such as Defil, Aelita, Resonet and Musima; and present-day oil-can guitars built in South Africa. Never before have so many guitars been profiled within a single illustrated volume.A striking colour photograph of each guitar is accompanied by specification details and illuminating text that traces the guitar's history and reveals which famous musicians like to play the instrument and on what albums it can be heard. Contents includes... IntroductionPre -1930s1930 - 1949 1950s1960s1970s1980s1990s2000s

Godsfield Press

The Feng Shui Bible

Simon G. Brown
Authors:
Simon G. Brown